Kyrgyzstan general info

General info

Kyrgyzstan is situated in Central Asia, its neighboring countries are Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tadjikistan to the south and China to its East and South-East. The former Republic of the Soviet Union became independent in the year 1991 and since then is a democratic Presidential Republic. Bishkek, formerly called Frunze , is the capital with about 1 million inhabitants, the country as a whole has about 5 million inhabitants and an area of 198.500 km2.

Bishkek - 74( East (Similar to New Delhi).

Bishkek - 42( North Similar to Istanbul, Madrid, New York.

Highest point- 7437 m - Peak Pobeda
Lowest point- 401 m - The Laikal district in the Ferghana Valley
Average elevation - 2750 m
Elevation of Bishkek - 750 m
93% of Kyrgyzstan located higher than 1500 m above sea level, and 41% above 3000m.

198,500 sq. km (76641 sq. miles)
It is similar to England and roughly equal to the combined areas of Portugal, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands.
925 km East-West: 453 km North-South
The total length of Kyrgyzstan's borders is 4508 km.

Neighbouring Countries
China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan.

6 million
Density - 24 per sq. km    
38% - urban, 62% - rural
51% - female, 49% - male
About  one sixth of the population lives in Bishkek.
The Kyrgyz make up just over 50% of the population. Among 70 other nationalities the major ones are:     
The Russians (17%), Uzbeks (13%), Ukrainians, Germans and Tartars.
40% of the population is under 14 years old and 8% of the population is over 60 years old.
After the Republic became Independent there was large-scale emigration of ethic Russians and Germans because of the decline of industrial job opportunities and growing Kyrgyz nationalism.

Muslim (Sunni), and Russian Orthodox.

State language is Kyrgyz.  Official - Russian, (In common use especially in the capital and Northern region).

Life Expectancy
In 1995: Male: 63.9 - Female: 72.6

National symbols:
Flag, Emblem.

Administrative structure:
The territory of Republic is divided into 8 administrative districts, the 7 regions ("oblasts"):
Chu Oblast,
Issyk-Kul Oblast,
Talas Oblast,
Naryn Oblast,
Osh Oblast,
Djalal-Abad Oblast,
Batken Oblast,
and the capital district of Bishkek.
The oblasts in turn are subdivided into 39 rayons (counties). Bishkek has 4 rajone. The rayons consist of a total of 429 local communities (Ail okmotu).

Membership of international organizations:
United Nations (and its specialized agencies such as UNDP, UNESCO, UNICEF, UNIDO, UNHCR), IOM, WHO, FAO, ILO; CIS, GIS, Central Asian Economic Community, ECO, World Bank, IMF, EBRD, IDB, ICAO, OECD, OSCE, Intelsat, WTO - World Trade Organization, WTO World Tourism Organization, Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).

Main | Kyrgyzstan tours | About us | Contact us | Cars for rent
All rights reserved
Создание сайта SpinStyle